top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOnTime Chauffeurs

Don't get it twisted! Always remember there is a very clear line between friendship and business.

"Am I not paying you?! Let's not get it twisted!"

Words that still resonate... a warranted and well-deserved scolding reminder that set me straight and fit my professional hat tightly back onto the crown of my head.

My role had slipped me for what felt like less than two minutes of casual conversation with my friend, Janella, who also happened to be one of my most frequent clients. On that evening in February 2010, she was attempting to confirm her arrangements for my company's bus service to take her friends to a Carnival fete (the Trinbagonian version of a rave party, but with a West Indian vibe and energy).


In retrospect, "J" and I had really been on the phone for 11 minutes, setting pickup times and logistics. But, this was a particularly large group. So each time we thought we had it fixed, up came some sort of change. At first I got away with expressing a few sighs, sarcastic laughs and exclamations like "OMG! Really?!"... but I'm pretty sure it was when I jokingly (and stupidly) said "you and your shaky group of friends really need to sort your s#*t out and get back to me when y'all know what you need"... (crickets)


The silence that immediately followed was as brief as it was deafening. Then, I had no means of remedy or recovery.

J's ensuing harsh and piercing words taught me a lesson never to be forgotten.

I'm proud to say that ever since that evening, even when my relatives and closest friends patronize my service, I never "get it twisted". There's only one premium level of service deliverable to all, regardless of friendship, familiarity, kinship, or any other recipe for comfort in poor service. I wear my attire smartly, engage warmly, and I remember the hat that I am wearing.


It is said that at Disney, the cast members abide by a well-established rule, that under no circumstances are characters to break their character while in uniform.


Likewise, in any business, it's critical to be mindful of the fact that you must always... and I repeat, ALWAYS wear the professional hat. The type of cap on the customer's head is no excuse, far less any justification for a slip of the tongue or drop of the ball.


Thanks J.


*Trinbagonian :- native to Trinidad and Tobago, a twin-island nation in the southern end of the Caribbean.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page